4 replies to this topic

#1 irratedadjective

irratedadjective

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 March 2017 - 02:56 AM

hi,

a project i want to continue with needs to have as fast a raid0 PCIe controller card[around 300 to $400]

it'll have 2 SSD cards[sata 3].

looking online for info about fast cards has proven fruitless in that i can not find clear information about anything specifically related to the speed potential wanted or that could be.

this has been an idea moving towards reality...and is in the build stage now.

am not able to find the right or near right one, so far.

some advice or thoughts or 'known-ofs' about PCIe raid cards would be most welcome.

thanks

#2 ranchhand

ranchhand

• Moderators
  • 1,423 posts
  • LocationMidwest

Posted 31 March 2017 - 02:07 PM

Welcome to SAF!

It's been a long time since I dug into RAID...I studied my head off when taking the MCP exams but that was so long ago I hesitate to give you any advice since the technology has come so far since "back in the day" of NT Server IV.

Sounds like a fun project, though.

Here is a link to a pretty deep discussion related to your project, I hope there is something that will help you. Don't overlook the "More Resources" button at the bottom of the page.

Here is a link to actual building steps for two PCIe cards in RAID 0.

Sorry I could not be of more help, possibly someone else here will post in.

Fishing Fanatic - gimme a fishing rod, point me North and turn me loose.

#3 irratedadjective

irratedadjective

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 March 2017 - 08:00 PM

ty ranch hand.

aye, the hay days, goodness me. they were really sunny! :)

i will look in on the links provided[ty again...for these :) ].

i came across many titles/topics or similar discussions but, no one really seems to know specifically and w/o going into way too much 'detail' about the needed, the real deal here, i.e. the ''speed''!!! so, i gave up.