7 replies to this topic

#1 beau

beau

Valued Member

• Gold Star Member
  • Pip
  • 592 posts

Posted 10 July 2017 - 10:46 AM

I've recently heard two conflicting opinions on the current status of C++. One self-proclaimed expert says C++ has come to be specially respected, and is regarded as a kind of gold star language . . the other says C++ going out of use and is no longer a significant player.

I'm not an IT professional, or even hobbyist, so you could fool me, but just out of curiosity I'd like to know which it is . . or something in between?

#2 Angoid

Angoid

Administeriosis Extremus

• Administrators
  • 1,567 posts
  • LocationEast Midlands, UK

Posted 10 July 2017 - 03:18 PM

This is definitely an "it depends on who you ask" question.

There is a lot of software out there that uses C++, so until this is all gone there will always be a call for C++ developers to modify and enhance it.
A good way to gauge how popular a language is would be to google it followed by the word "jobs" (for example, C++ jobs) and see what you get and what kind of money is being offered.
I don't think C++ is in its ascendancy as it's quite a well-established language now - the question is whether it is being superseded by c# and other 'object-oriented' languages.
I'd personally say it's on a plateau, neither on its way up or on the way out.

Nowadays, there is no "go-to" language in that if you know it, you'll be in immediate demand. You need a range of language experiences to get into software development these days.
And many companies don't even look at you if you only have hobbyist experience: they want folk who have 2 or 3 years' experience at least.

If you don't know what eschatology is then don't worry; it's not the end of the world.
Please do not send uninvited PMs requesting support; post into the appropriate forum instead and we'll all learn. See our Private messaging policy.

#3 ranchhand

ranchhand

• Moderators
  • 1,423 posts
  • LocationMidwest